What is UI?

cab980002

Newly Enlightened
I don't want to sound dumb but what is UI? I am new to the led light craze and new to this forum. I will have to say that this forum rocks. I have a new upgraded gladius and I LOVE it. Thanks.

aljsk8

Enlightened
user interface

like the way the user (you) operates the item

examples

good user interface - 1 level twisty or clicky

bad user interface - 100 level twisty and clicky where you need a month to figure out how to use it

hope you understand

LEDninja

Flashlight Enthusiast
UI=user interface

A simple user interface would be an on-off switch.
More complicated switches may go OFF>ON(low)>OFF>ON(high)>OFF or OFF>HIGH>LOW>OFF.
Some flashlights allow you to twist the head or a ring around the head to select light levels and use the switch for on-off.

With digital lights the light/mode is done inside a microprocessor controller chip. Click>ON. Click again>OFF or Click-Click>next level or mode. In additional to more light levels blinking modes may also be available. They can be BEACON, STROBE, SOS.

As more and more light levels and modes are added manufacturers divide them into groups. To switch between groups you can twist the bezel in the Fenix -D lights. Most others use electronic switching - at the last level/mode in a group there are 2 sets of blinks. If you do the click-click thing between the blinks you go to the next group.
In a few lights like the Liteflux and flupic based ones one of the groups is programmable by the user.

To avoid having to go through umpteen levels to get to your favorate many lights with too many levels have last state memory. It will come back on in the last level/mode you used the torch.

The ultimate UI probably is the flashlight from JSB. You make your selections on your computer and download the settings to the flashlight via USB cable.

Last edited:

cab980002

Newly Enlightened