ROP or 2C 5761?

SuRgE

Enlightened
I'm a newbie to Mag Mods and have recently purchased a few fine examples from FiveMega (12AA running Osram 62138, FM85 WA1185, and the 8AA running the WA1164). I have put together my own high powered 5C Mag WA1185 based on what I have been learning from these awesome CPF threads. Now, I have built a smaller "sleeper" version using a 2C host.

My question is; How come there is such a huge following for the "ROP" when it appears that a 2C using 2xC li-ons powering a Philips 5761 is smaller , more powerful, and easier to build? Mine seems to me to be more powerful than my M*g 85!

I am not trying to knock the ROP. When I was searching CPF for info to build one of the smallest brightest Mags; the Philips 5761 2C appeared to be the way to go. But there is way more talk of the ROP and I was curious why.

I am now thinking of putting together a ROP but will I be disapointed when comparing it to my 5761?

Also, is there a nickname for a 2C 5761?

You all have been an invaluable source for me and have allowed me to now own some of the brightest and nicest looking M*gs around.:twothumbs

THanks All

eshishlo

Newly Enlightened
There is a LE ROP which uses the 2c mag format as well as Lithium Ion batteries. I think that the reason that the ROP was so popular in the first place, is because the Pelican bulb fit into the stock holder. I belive that the Philips 5761 is a bi-pin bulb and requires a special holder. These are now easier to obtain than before. Therefore, we may see a shift in the bulb choices soon.

Pokerstud

Enlightened
I'm a newbie to Mag Mods and have recently purchased a few fine examples from FiveMega (12AA running Osram 62138, FM85 WA1185, and the 8AA running the WA1164). I have put together my own high powered 5C Mag WA1185 based on what I have been learning from these awesome CPF threads. Now, I have built a smaller "sleeper" version using a 2C host.