10 watt LED board

-=PEAKABOO=-

Newly Enlightened
Hello, never posted here but need some advice. I am an electronic tweaker but have not messed with many high power LED's.
I am needing to make some LED flood lights to replace 55 watt incandescent flood lights on an offroad only vehicle. The vehicle is a rock crawler and we use lights mounted under the vehicle that illuminate the ground on the sides of the vehicle for off roading at night. We also use driving lights in the front but the beam throw is usually to long with most driving lights for what we do (slow driving but need lots of light)
I was thinking of using something like this
http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.5862
to make flood lights under the side of the vehicle, I have plenty of heatsink and the knowledge of mounting items to all sizes of heatsinks. I tinker with high power RF amplifiers.
My first question is, would these LED's work with the vehicles 14 volt system or should I use a resistor to decrease the voltage a tad?? I do not mind shortening the life span a tad to get a little brighter light.

Also I want to make some front flood / driving lights using cree's and the reflectors available. I will more than likely run them in series and then maybe that in parallel to be able to use more LED's. I have all types of heatsinks from flat to tubular to u-shape extrusions so heatsink is not an issue. I plan on possibly mounting some of this either in large incandescent used housings or using the u-shape heatsink and making lexan lens.
My main concern is my lack of knowledge with these LED's. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a million.

-=PEAKABOO=-

-=PEAKABOO=-

Newly Enlightened
Another question. I am not familiar with the thermal epoxy as I normally bolt devices to a heatsink. Is this stuff adequate for mounting and transferring heat from the mounted device??

TIA

Lightingguy321

Enlightened