Olight
Results 1 to 29 of 29

Thread: E2E and AW 17670s

  1. #1
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    949

    Default E2E and AW 17670s

    Hi everyone, I got my AW 17670s today, and they don't fit in my E2E. They will go almost all the way down the tube, but there is a small ridge inside the tube that stops them flush with the top of the tube. I tried removing the sticker, but that was not the problem. The RCR123s fit in there just fine. I guess I will have to file the inside of the light a little to take away the ridge. Any other suggestions before I file it down?

  2. #2
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    949

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    Has anyone had the same problem?

  3. #3
    Thread Killer Illum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Central Florida, USA
    Posts
    12,691

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    the E series body seem to have the issue [the inner radius near the tailcap is less than the radius near the bezel]

    some have claimed success by taking a file to the inner body cavity near the TC while others sufficed to using 17500s [shorter than 17670s by 17mm] in their bodies.

    My old L4 body couldn't take a 17670 so I used a E2D body

  4. #4
    Flashaholic* light_emitting_dude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    NE Ohio
    Posts
    1,135

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    I had the same problem with my L4. I used my dremel tool to bore it out and now it fits fine.
    Semper Fi

  5. #5
    Flashaholic
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    135

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    Quote Originally Posted by light_emitting_dude View Post
    I had the same problem with my L4. I used my dremel tool to bore it out and now it fits fine.
    +1, I just used a round file to get rid of the lip and 17670's fit fine now

  6. #6

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    I have an E2L and they won't fit. I picked up an older E2E and they fit fine. I get to play a little Lego between the two.
    Too many lights! Stop me!

  7. #7
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    949

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    Quote Originally Posted by da.gee View Post
    I have an E2L and they won't fit. I picked up an older E2E and they fit fine. I get to play a little Lego between the two.
    I didn't really know how long mine had been at Bass Pro before I got it, but I guess I got a newer one. At least there is a good side to the story...

  8. #8
    Flashaholic* fivemega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    California
    Posts
    3,585

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    Quote Originally Posted by jugg2 View Post
    I got my AW 17670s today, and they don't fit in my E2E. ?
    You may have battery with slightly thicker shrink tube or shrinked unevenly.
    I have dozens of AW's protected 17670 and all fit in E2e

  9. #9
    Flashaholic* Icarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    2,803

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    Quote Originally Posted by Illum_the_nation View Post
    ... the inner radius near the tailcap is less than the radius near the bezel
    This was also my experience with some E2D bodies.
    So, I put them in my lathe and now they fit perfectly.

  10. #10

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    From what I've read here some E2Es will fit them and some will not. Often it is the small variations in batteries that also determine your luck. Combine the two and well you just don't know.
    Too many lights! Stop me!

  11. #11
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    885

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    My M600A takes the older blue AW cells, but the newer style are too tight.
    List of lights removed to allow the search engine to work

  12. #12
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    949

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    Well I had 2 hours to kill, so I used an old drum stick I had and some 800 grit sand paper. I finished it off with 2000 grit. Now it looks like it came from the factory that way, and the 17670s fit in there perfectly!

  13. #13
    Thread Killer Illum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Central Florida, USA
    Posts
    12,691

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    Quote Originally Posted by Icarus View Post
    This was also my experience with some E2D bodies.
    So, I put them in my lathe and now they fit perfectly.

    I wonder if Surefire's CNC machines need to be calibrated for tolerances
    I'm not a machinist myself but during a drill/boring process with the same bit I don't see how one side could be wider than the other unless the thing isn't straight to begin with

  14. #14

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    Just a thought, i don't have any experience with rechargables... but could surefire be doing this on purpose? To stop people from using rechargables? I know that they frown upon them being used in the lights to begin with... just a thought lol.

    Steven

  15. #15
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    949

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    Quote Originally Posted by Scorpionboy View Post
    Just a thought, i don't have any experience with rechargables... but could surefire be doing this on purpose? To stop people from using rechargables? I know that they frown upon them being used in the lights to begin with... just a thought lol.

    Steven
    That is very possible, but at least I was able to fix SureFire's "mistake" lol.

  16. #16
    Thread Killer Illum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Central Florida, USA
    Posts
    12,691

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    Quote Originally Posted by Scorpionboy View Post
    Just a thought, i don't have any experience with rechargables... but could surefire be doing this on purpose? To stop people from using rechargables? I know that they frown upon them being used in the lights to begin with... just a thought lol.

    Steven
    I heard this too...but then again I heard of the U2s development days where the testing was built upon the use of 18650s instead of cr123As. and a hidden trick was to insert a plastic tube from the bezel end into the body, and snug up the bezel/body region. from the tailcap its cr123As only, but knowing this allowed a few members to use 18650s in their U2s....then the new U2s no longer have this tube so yeah.

    Today Surefire not only prevents users from using rechargeables [unless its their own, see B90 ni-cd], they also state very explicitly that the use of cells other than primary lithium for their cr123A lights will void the warranty.
    does this enhance their sale of cr123as? I dunno, but sure didn't discourage any of us from use it in our lights

  17. #17
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    983

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    Does anyone know whether this problem also exists with the C2? I was thinking about getting a 17670 for it.
    I spend my days in the light thinking about flashlights in the dark

  18. #18
    Enlightened MikeM's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    43

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    Seem to be hit or miss but 17670's fit fine in my newer C2.

    Mike

  19. #19
    Thread Killer Illum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Central Florida, USA
    Posts
    12,691

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    if it doesn't fit...hey 6P, C2, and M2s have a heck of alot more material to prevent boring through than that of E series bodies

  20. #20

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    How much material removal are we talking about for the E2E's that cannot take 17650 cell? Is it under 1mm?

  21. #21
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    949

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    Quote Originally Posted by rtt View Post
    How much material removal are we talking about for the E2E's that cannot take 17650 cell? Is it under 1mm?
    I can't tell for sure, but I wouldn't think it was anymore than 1mm.

  22. #22
    Flashaholic* Ty_Bower's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Newark, DE
    Posts
    1,189

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    Quote Originally Posted by jugg2 View Post
    Well I had 2 hours to kill, so I used an old drum stick I had and some 800 grit sand paper. I finished it off with 2000 grit. Now it looks like it came from the factory that way, and the 17670s fit in there perfectly!
    You can do the same thing in about 10 minutes if you chuck a piece of wood dowel wrapped in sandpaper on a Dremel mandrel.

    The only reason a great many American families donít own an elephant is that they have never been offered an elephant for a dollar down and easy monthly payments.

  23. #23
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    949

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    Yeah, but I don't have a dremel tool, so I had to do it the old fashioned way lol.

  24. #24
    Flashaholic SixM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    SE MI
    Posts
    132

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    Sorry to bring up an old thread but I need some current info. Will the current AW 17650 fit in the current E2E? I'm trying to get a couple of friends into purchasing an E2E, and want to get them setup with rechargeables if they fit, any additional info would be great. TIA

  25. #25
    Enlightened
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Opelika, AL.
    Posts
    88

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    Quote Originally Posted by SixM View Post
    Sorry to bring up an old thread but I need some current info. Will the current AW 17650 fit in the current E2E? I'm trying to get a couple of friends into purchasing an E2E, and want to get them setup with rechargeables if they fit, any additional info would be great. TIA

    Not in the new E2E's. You can easily look from the bezel end of the body and see the slightly raised lip which will prevent the 17670 to fit. Most of the old stock E2E's will accommodate the AW 17670 just fine. For some reason Surefire got wise to the single cell li-ion being used and started to leave a lip, most likely to sell more primaries.

  26. #26
    *Flashaholic* greenLED's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    La Tiquicia
    Posts
    13,244

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    Quote Originally Posted by Darien View Post
    Not in the new E2E's. You can easily look from the bezel end of the body and see the slightly raised lip which will prevent the 17670 to fit. Most of the old stock E2E's will accommodate the AW 17670 just fine. For some reason Surefire got wise to the single cell li-ion being used and started to leave a lip, most likely to sell more primaries.
    No, it was actually to prevent people from using li-ions and getting them to vent (in the old days that was common). They didn't want the liability on their shoulders.

  27. #27
    Flashaholic SixM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    SE MI
    Posts
    132

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    OK, thanks guys.

  28. #28
    Flashaholic Filip's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Czech Republic
    Posts
    126

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    It can be filed (and broaden) easily in a couple of minutes.

  29. #29
    Flashaholic* BLUE LED's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,288

    Default Re: E2E and AW 17670s

    Quote Originally Posted by da.gee View Post
    I have an E2L and they won't fit. I picked up an older E2E and they fit fine. I get to play a little Lego between the two.
    I have quite a few E series bodies and find that the older models fit the AW 17670 cell. All of my newer bodies do not.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •