3D maglite build ?

October_V

Newly Enlightened
I am really new to the home build flashlight world, still reading these post every night.
What is considered to be the brightest build with a 30+ minute run time on this platform?
I am looking to do a Mag85 project, but am curious to how far I can go with a 3D.
Thanks!

RichS

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm in the same boat as you with a 3D Maglite, and wanting the brightest mode within a "reasonable" budget and fairly simple to build as its my first one. From what I've read here (which is a lot), the Mag85 is the brightest, fairly simple mod without having to bore out the battery tube to fit larger battery packs. I'm in the middle of building this one (Li-ion edition) as well as a 2D ROP (NiMH), just waiting on the final parts to come in.

It's absolutely endless what you can do, even with a 2D, just look at the Mag623! https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/186764

But, it requires a bored tube and other mods which puts the budget and complexity much further up there.

You can check out LuxLuthors Most Powerful Mods list below and see how far you want to go, but if you are like me just getting started with these mods, I think the Mag85 is a great place to start. After seeing the Mag623 blow the doors off a 15 Million Candlepower spotlight, this will definitely be my next mod - in a 2D no less!

https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/177171

DonShock

Flashlight Enthusiast
IMHO the Mag85 is the biggest WOW you can do to a Mag3D that just involves swapping out parts. A little pricey but you can vary that a lot depending on what quality of parts you buy.

jimjones3630

Flashlight Enthusiast
3 x emoli 2670mah 4.2v, the lithium cell from Milwaukee 28v battery paks yeilds 12.6v on a fresh charge. I've run 100w Osram 64625 and 62138 bulbs. 2600mah/7000x60= bit over 25min run time. And these batteries sag very little with some of the flattest discharge curves. Which gives you a constant output for most of the run time.