Dive light project

steve6690

Enlightened
Hi all,
it's been many years since I did any electronics but I'm thinking of having a try at building a Led dive light. Initially I want to sort the electronics out and probably try it in an old dive light. The plan then is to build an umbilical head and battery pack. I have no experience of led's and driver units though so I need to do some experimenting. I've been looking at DealExtreme to supply the bits. My initial thoughts are:

5 x Cree P4 on stars (sku 2134) driven at 700 ma from 5 x sku 3146.

I was thinking of mounting the stars on a circular copper plate with thermal compound and drilling holes for the wiring to pass through. I'm also planning to use tagged AA rechargeable batteries to make a 4.5V pack. The final product will need to give me around 4 hours of light before any dimming.
I need around 10 degrees beam so intend to play with various optics until I get something I'm happy with.

Am I way off with this plan or is it a reasonable start point ?

thanks for any help.

Steve

MatajumotorS

Enlightened
I need around 10 degrees beam so intend to play with various optics until I get something I'm happy with.
I have used NX05 optic with cree emitter, i think with good results, see picture - cree q2 @ 900mA, distance is 2,5m, baloon diameter is 10cm, ambient lighting is 23W fluorescent bulb.

cree-nx05.JPG

steve6690

Enlightened
That's a nice beam. I need something that cuts through the murk on UK wreck dives and that looks like it might do the trick

DM51

Flashaholic
Welcome to CPF, Steve. Interesting project.

You will find plenty of good advice here on the electronics of this, but it would probably be a help to show what you have in mind as the host to be used, so people can have an idea of what could fit inside it.

LukeA

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi all,