Advantage/disadvantage of serrated blades?

Randy555

Newly Enlightened
I am new to knives and just wondering if anyone could explain the pros and cons of a knife with serrated blade over a straight one.

Randy

matrixshaman

Flashlight Enthusiast
Serrated will cut through a tree branch, seat belt and other common things much quicker and easier. But serrated is harder to sharpen. For an EDC I prefer to have at least one serrated blade - usually serrated about half the length of the blade.

Gimpy00Wang

b0rk, b0rk, b0rk
Yep...in general a serrated blade is better for fibrous materials (rope, seatbelt, etc...). Plain edges tend to be better for smooth materials like plastic, etc...

- Chris

iTorch

Newly Enlightened
A serrated blade will saw through things easier, but will also snag a bit for fine work, a mixed blade is a good option, will cover best of both worlds, or have a serrated folder and plain fixed blade.

FlashSpyJ

Enlightened
I have discovered that some serrated blades are like a saw and those blades are not good at anything. Those serrated knives that works good to me cut through things a lot easier! One really good serrated blade is the one leatherman have on their multi tools.
To carve wood I prefer a plain edge, to cut rope, thin plastic (tarpaulin), and other materials like that, I prefer a serrated edge.

Randy555

Newly Enlightened
Thank you for all the info, I am now starting to have a picture of how a serrated blade is useful on some applications and not on everything. I am looking at picking up a Byrd meadowlark or Raven, but I think I will decide when I am actually in the store and be able to hold it.

The reason I am getting a small knife that locks is after reading some very useful safety info on non locking folding knives which I have two that I use when travelling and camping, sometimes lending it to my wife to cut things is not actually as safe than a locking folder. Thanks again for the response.

Randy

Last edited:

J!m