Noob Modding Questions

tychoseven

Newly Enlightened
I'm new to flashlights in general, and even newer to modding. I've cut my teeth on a Romisen RC-G2, upgrading the LED to a P4 and switching out the driver board with a more efficient model. I find modding to be pretty fun, and I'd like to continue with some basic mods on other cheap DX lights to build my skills. I have a couple questions that the Search couldn't help me answer.

1. How can I measure/determine the efficiency of a driver board? I have a multimeter but not much else in the way of electronic tools. I figure there must be a way to estimate runtimes without turning on the light and running it down. But maybe not?

2. Possibly related to #1. People sometimes mention that their light "draws X amps." I assume this number relates to a light's brightness and runtime. What is significant about amperage draw, and how can I measure it?

3. I have a fondness for simplicity, but also versatility. Consequently I prefer lights that can fill multiple roles. Bright is great, but sometimes you need softer light for reading at night. Something I think would add versatility to my RC-G2 (or any cheap single-stage light) is a two-stage switch with tailcap resistor, like the LM31. Is this modification possible on most lights, or only on some? How would I accomplish such a mod? Links to guides or walkthroughs in this vein would be very helpful.

Thanks,
Tycho

schiesz

Flashlight Enthusiast
I can give you a quick answer to #2.

If you remove the tailcap of a light, such as a Maglite, you can easily find the amps drawn from the cells.

Just set your DMM to amps, put one lead on the back of the battery, and the other on the rim of the flashlight body. With the light turned on, this should give you a reading of the amps being drawn.

This is not the same, however, as the amps being seen by the emitter in an LED light. It is simply the amps being pulled from the batteries.

schiesz

yellow

Flashlight Enthusiast