Trimming Your Dog's Nails

LuxLuthor

Flashaholic
This has always been a hassle, and recently I saw an infomercial for the "Peticure" which uses a shielded Dremel grinding drum...and after using it 3 times over the last 6 weeks, I heartily endorse it. Make sure you look at the videos online, and only use for 3-4 seconds on 3-4 speed setting.

I wish they had this years ago.

Last edited:

shakeylegs

Enlightened
My dachshound has graduated to the big bone yard beyond, but I still live in fear!!!!!!!!! Natasha. . . . . . .time to clip your . . .ok, ok, maybe later:eek:

TigerhawkT3

Flashlight Enthusiast
I just watched the video, and I've never seen so many closeups of doggie paws in my life. :D That looks pretty awesome! Our dog is pretty skittish - how's the noise? Do you know what kind of battery it uses (chemistry, accessible/swappable)?

And, of course, what kind of dog or cat do you have? :)

Groundhog66

Banned
I have been using a cordless Dremel for a few years now, much safer than clipping. They still hate it of course, but I highly recommend it.

Tim

Numbers

Enlightened
I still use a regular clipper, the best (most expensive) one I could find.
Once a week I just clip the "hook" off. I never go back for a second cut on the same nail if I dont get as much off as I wanted to on the first cut. Just leave it alone until the next week. Cant remember the last time I saw any blood. Since the dog, a lab, gets a bone after nail clipping she actually looks forward to it and is very cooperative.
Seems like the dremel technique would take too long and I have never seen a Vet use other than clippers. It's really quite easy if you have a cooperative dog.

Wicho

Enlightened
Sounds like my dog.

Here's my good girl at her favorite place.

img1316cv3.jpg

img1325jz1.jpg

Wicho

Enlightened
Thank you!