Best throw incan for under $100?

painless

Newly Enlightened
I love the color and out put that my cheap little Brinkman Max offers, but I am now wanting for an Incan that is still relatively small and runs on CR123s. I would love a Microfire or AE yet these are quite a bit out of my budget. It will be used primarily for out side use in the woods for spoting nocturnal woodland critters and impressing my friends. Looking for strength and durability with around a 50min runtime at 200+ lum, good throw. Any sugestions????? Does it exist????:thinking:

I plan on purchasing a TK-10 for carry and to compliment my bedside 1911. But the light quality blows for out door use to see color detail.

P.S. If it,s not obvious, I am a bit new to the high output flashlight world.
My strongest lights are a 4D Mag and a Brinkman Maxfire. Sad, I know.:shakehead

Last edited:

KeyGrip

Flashlight Enthusiast
Re: Best throw incan for under $125?

Wolf Eyes makes a few large reflectored lights in that size range and should fall under that budget. I'd suggest a SureFire turbohead setup, but the cheapest one is the G3 + KT2, and that's well over $125. If you don't mind buying used you may be able to pull off that setup on your budget. Also check out the Streamlight TL-3.

Last edited:

Gunnerboy

Enlightened
Re: Best throw incan for under $125?

:welcome:

The Brinkmann Maxfire is great little light! IMO, the most incan light you can get for under $25.

I recommend building a Mag2C with a 6V KPR112 bulb driven by 3xCR123's. This is a THE entry-level incandescent mod. The bulb is overdriven from spec so it's bright. You're using the stock Mag reflector so it's focusable and will have great throw. It's pretty cheap to operate, but I suggest only buying U.S.-manufactured CR123A cells (for safety).

This was my first modded light and gave me hours of fun. Definitely a confidence builder.

Cheers,
Gary

Paul_in_Maryland

Flashlight Enthusiast