Using more light than is necessary

HeadCSO

Enlightened
I've been using Fenix lights for about 12 months now. Most of the time, what I use a light for can be done on low mode, but I find myself using high mode more and more, especially as the AA lights now have rechargeables. I just can't explain it. The other night, I was navigating around the house with a TK10 on max.

Does anyone else do this or is everyone sensible and just use the appropriate light level for the task at hand.

OceanView

Enlightened
What others have referred to in the past as "light culture" is an interesting difference among people. I find it even more interesting that your preference has actually changed over time for the same application. I have always been a "use just enough light" type with my flashlights and still remain so. Then again, I also don't like to blast my music either. Maybe it's all related.

Marduke

Flashaholic
I think about 99% of us here are guilty of that. If you think about it, everyone got along fine for a good 100 years or so with just 5-10 lumens of a dim yellow incan, and last I checked nighttime hasn't gotten significantly darker recently :candle:

And when using rechargeables, you have guilt-free lumens. You don't feel bad about using the light on max because you aren't wasting any batteries. Just pop them on the charger for a couple hours and you're good to go again.

Guilt-free lumens is indeed great!

OceanView

Enlightened
Ah, I forgot about the guilt free lumens. I may stick to using "just enough light" most of the time in terms of brightness, but I have no qualms about using my lights a lot or leaving them on a long time since I use rechargeables. I'm definitely "guilty" of using my lights in situations where it might not necessary (anyone else take a shower with just the light from their flashlight, instead of turning on the room lights?) :naughty:

leukos

Flashlight Enthusiast