what rechargable batteries should i order for fenix tk10

bigfish5

Newly Enlightened
I am trying to figure out exactly what i need to order for a tk10 , i have no experience with cr123a batteries. I bought a fenix l2d premium, it makes 180 lumens with just 2 aa batteries, now i want the tk10 with 225 lumens. This might be addictive. I want recharchables. help please.

Skibane

Enlightened
I've had good results in my TK-10 with these cheapies from Deal Extreme - will deliver at least 35 continuous minutes of run-time at full power (haven't tested them beyond this point), and they seem to recharge fully. Only significant disadvantage is that the diameter of the case varies somewhat from unit to unit - can make for a tight fit.

LED_Thrift

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm not sure if recommending UNPROTECTED cells for someone who says: "i have no experience with cr123a batteries" is a good thing? Does anyone know if protected cells will fit?

bigfish5: Welcome to CPF. Unlike common alkaline batteries like AAs, Cs and Ds, Li-Ion rechargables take a certain amount of knowledge to use safely. The link to battery university is a good place to start.

Crenshaw

Flashlight Enthusiast
protected cells will very unlikley fit, my tk10 is at home at the moment,but i think that regular CR123A cells fit flush with the end of the body, so protected would prevent the tail from even screwing on.

Its not that bad starting with un-protected, just remember to charge every day to top it off, and you should do fine. besides its 6$ for 4 batteries at DX, not a huge loss if you do accidently over discharge a set

Crenshaw

Skibane

Enlightened
Its not that bad starting with un-protected, just remember to charge every day to top it off

Li-ion cells only need to be recharged after they've been discharged - Self-discharge is insignificant, so there is no daily recharge or "topping off" necessary.