Battery Junction
Results 1 to 25 of 25

Thread: Which NovaTac? P or T?

  1. #1

    Default Which NovaTac? P or T?

    My stimulus check is going to buy me a NovaTac. I just don't know which one to get - a P or a T. I have read the User Guides to both[still studying them], and the P seems awfully complicated.

    What I am looking for is a light that no matter what mode I am in - say low for navigating the house at night, I can go instantly tactical full output, even strobe, NOW! if the need arises.

    From what I gather, the T will do that[momentary maximum]. Will the P?

    TIA



  2. #2

    Default Re: Which NovaTac? P or T?

    I'd have to go searching for the manual online, but IIRC the P will go into momentary maximum if you press and hold when the light is on.

    I can't verify this though as mine is still with the postal service

    Edit:

    The manual here... he say yes http://www.novatac.com/downloads/Nov...-UserGuide.pdf
    Last edited by LargePig; 05-08-2008 at 09:19 AM.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Which NovaTac? P or T?

    Quote Originally Posted by LargePig View Post
    I'd have to go searching for the manual online, but IIRC the P will go into momentary maximum if you press and hold when the light is on.

    I can't verify this though as mine is still with the postal service

    Edit:

    The manual here... he say yes http://www.novatac.com/downloads/Nov...-UserGuide.pdf
    Been reading that. Still confused

  4. #4
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    635

    Default Re: Which NovaTac? P or T?

    I would go with the 120P. I believe that it will be one of the most versatile lights that you will ever buy. You can program the "P'' model to mimic the settings of a ''T''. Go ahead and buy it, you wont regret it.

    -Aaron

    Edit:It wont take you long to learn the UI once you have the light in hand.
    Last edited by ~Deicide~; 05-08-2008 at 09:27 AM. Reason: Added Note

  5. #5

    Default Re: Which NovaTac? P or T?

    The P can do everything the T can do and more. It all depends on how you program it.

    The settings can also be "locked" once it is programmed to how you like it. A reset will "unlock" it such that it can be reprogrammed (P model only).


    The T model has its settings and cannot be changed.

    I've got a P and wouldn't have it any other way, provided one can get it at a good price.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Which NovaTac? P or T?

    Ok so the 120P out of the box is programmed as follows:

    Click: Turn on to Primary (10 Lumens)

    From ON
    1. Two Clicks: Toggle between Secondary (30 Lumens) and Primary (10 Lumens)
    2. Three Clicks: Minimum (0.3 Lumens)
    3. Press (and hold) while ON: Momentary Maximum (120 Lumens)
    4. Click-Press: Maximum (120 Lumens)
    5. Click: Turn off

    From OFF
    1. Click-Press: Maximum (120 Lumens)

  7. #7
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, Earth, USA, New England
    Posts
    927

    Default Re: Which NovaTac? P or T?

    Speaking as a complete Novatac Newbie myself, yes, the P series can seem rather overwhelming.....

    ....for about 10 minutes....

    once you get the hang of it, it's remarkably intuitive

    Here's the Cliffs Notes version of Novatac setup

    there are four programmable slots, each designated by a distinct click pattern;

    Click
    Double Click
    Triple Click
    Click-Press

    any light level can be assigned to any slot, as can the SOS, and Strobe modes

    there are two programming commands;
    Click-Click-Press; sets the light level and/or strobe modes
    Click-Click-Click-Press; enters the option menu to set things like the Beacon, SOS, Find-Me flash, and menu lockout

    to program the light levels, click to the slot you want to program, then Click-Click-Press, the brightness will ramp upward in distinct steps, when you get the light level you want, stop, and turn the light off to set that level

    to program menu options, Click-Click-Click-Press and release the button when the LED flashes in Beacon mode (1 flash per second), click the button to step through the modes, when you find the one you want to enable or disable, hold in the button, if you are enabling the option, the light will go dim-to-bright, then to on, if you are disabling the option, the light will go bright to dim, then on

    it sounds more complicated written out than it really is, the versatility of the P series is unmatched, you can set up the P to mimic the behavior of the T, lock out the menus and you're good to go, if you ever want to change settings, just perform a factory reset and set it up however you want

    the P's versatility is worth it

  8. #8

    Default Re: Which NovaTac? P or T?

    If you wanted instant access to full or strobe you could quite easilly set the light like this

    1 Click: Turn on into 10 lumens or whatever you want
    2 Clicks: Maximum 120
    3 Clicks: Strobe
    Click-Press: Really low 0.3

    The possibilities are endless.....

  9. #9

    Default Re: Which NovaTac? P or T?

    Quote Originally Posted by LargePig View Post
    Ok so the 120P out of the box is programmed as follows:

    Click: Turn on to Primary (10 Lumens)

    From ON
    1. Two Clicks: Toggle between Secondary (30 Lumens) and Primary (10 Lumens)
    2. Three Clicks: Minimum (0.3 Lumens)
    3. Press (and hold) while ON: Momentary Maximum (120 Lumens)
    4. Click-Press: Maximum (120 Lumens)
    5. Click: Turn off

    From OFF
    1. Click-Press: Maximum (120 Lumens)
    Not very tactically friendly under a stressfull situation. Click-Press from OFF to Maximum is one too many operations under stress.

    Looks like the T is what I am looking for. Defensive capabilities FIRST, fu-fu modes second.

    Thanks for all the info.

  10. #10
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    houston,tx
    Posts
    887

    Default Re: Which NovaTac? P or T?

    I own two 120T's. I like being able to go right to full blast bright on the first click. Clicking thru to get to the lower modes is easy though I rarely have a need to use the low modes. The T is cheaper,plus you can change out to the flat tailcap of the P.

  11. #11

    Default Re: Which NovaTac? P or T?

    I see what you mean about the manual sounding scary, but I really think it would be very easy to set one click from off go into max 120.

  12. #12
    Flashaholic* HoopleHead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    West Coast, USA
    Posts
    1,312

    Default Re: Which NovaTac? P or T?

    the P can be programmed any way you like. low low first, or maximum first. note that all 4 settings can be programmed, so "Maximum" could be set to low low, and the strobe can be changed to max. its all good, whats not to like?

    i have 2 120Ps.

  13. #13
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, Earth, USA, New England
    Posts
    927

    Default Re: Which NovaTac? P or T?

    My 120P is set up thusly;

    Click; .08 Lumens
    Double-Click; 10 lumens
    Triple-Click; 30 Lumens
    Click-Press; 120 Lumens

    I basically reversed the factory order, I want the light to come on ultra-low and adjust upward as needed

  14. #14

    Default Re: Which NovaTac? P or T?

    Quote Originally Posted by MacTech View Post
    My 120P is set up thusly;

    Click; .08 Lumens
    Double-Click; 10 lumens
    Triple-Click; 30 Lumens
    Click-Press; 120 Lumens

    I basically reversed the factory order, I want the light to come on ultra-low and adjust upward as needed
    Thats pretty much how I am planning on setting up mine. But having 120 on the first click could be good sometimes. Perhaps they could complicate things further and have a number of memory banks in future versions

    Like from off, click turns on settings bank A or press turns on settings bank B.

    Im only half serious BTW

  15. #15
    Flashaholic* Dead_Nuts's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Somewherein, Ohio
    Posts
    655

    Default Re: Which NovaTac? P or T?

    Quote Originally Posted by Brigadier View Post
    Not very tactically friendly under a stressfull situation. Click-Press from OFF to Maximum is one too many operations under stress.

    Looks like the T is what I am looking for. Defensive capabilities FIRST, fu-fu modes second.

    Thanks for all the info.
    The P can have max as the very first mode and have strobe available with a press-hold, if that's what you want. Max (or any level or function) can be any, all or none of the 4 modes - that's the beauty of it. If you decide ti use your light in a different fashion in a year or so, just reprogram it accordingly.
    Dead Nuts

    "Wherever you go . . . there you are."

  16. #16
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, Earth, USA, New England
    Posts
    927

    Default Re: Which NovaTac? P or T?

    Considering you can get right to 120 Lumens in my setup by Click on>Click-Press or Click on>Hold, 120 Lumens is almost instantly available, if you need immediate access to 120, just program it as the first light level

  17. #17

    Default Re: Which NovaTac? P or T?

    The P can be set up with one level, two levels, three levels or 4 levels. (Or "slots" as MacTech called them)

    It can be set up to come on at the brightest level or the lowest. It is extremely flexible.

    Want one level, program all slots for the same setting. Two levels, no problem. Want one level and a strobe, can do.

  18. #18

    Default Re: Which NovaTac? P or T?

    Does the P have a momentary on capability ala SureFire style? Or is it a click only. For tactical uses, momentary on without an audible click is desireable.

  19. #19
    Flashaholic*
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sector ZZ9 Plural Z Alpha, Earth, USA, New England
    Posts
    927

    Default Re: Which NovaTac? P or T?

    It can be programmed that way, yes, and the programmablew switch does emit a faint click when pressed, but it's almost inaudible, it is a forward clicky though, and must be pressed fully to activate the light, unlike a tactical switch which can be partially pressed for light

    the T's tactical tailcap is compatible with the P, so you could purchase a P and a tactical tailcap if you'd like

  20. #20

    Default Re: Which NovaTac? P or T?

    As others have mentioned, the P can be set up just like a T if you want.

    One thing to consider though, is that in my experience, the P models have a little bit of flicker and pulsing when switching between high and low modes. The pulsing appears to be random, which makes a me a little nervous about the reliability of the circuit.

    At the moment I have a 120 E that doesn't pulse and feels rock solid. It's less flexible and I wish the low were lower, but I don't worry about it either. I have a 85p that rarely, rarely pulses and is more fun to play with too...

  21. #21

    Default Re: Which NovaTac? P or T?

    I think the p is the cats meow!!! One click is 10, push and hold it's 120. That easy!! Look at the car, push and hold to scare the drunk, let off and do you're paper work. Push and hold again when the drunk gets ancy.
    But you can program it any way you like, and not have to worry about the tailcap getting clicked when you put it in a pocket.
    My Mags aren't very impressive anymore!

  22. #22
    Flashaholic
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Durban, South Africa
    Posts
    355

    Default Re: Which NovaTac? P or T?

    I've been looking at these two lights myself lately...

    The 120P seems to be the one that gets all the love around here, which I can understand given the high level of involvement that CPFers have with their lights.

    However, I think if what you are after is just pure blazing light in a high quality package, then the T seems to be the one to get.

    If Murphy has anything to do with it, the KISS principle must always be followed.

    The only thing I would change is the button as I prefer the flat button of the P. Thanks to the wonderful dealers we have you can do this at a later date no problemo.

    If it were me, I would choose the T. (gee, I made a rhyme... )
    Wolf Eyes Raider 9DX / Surefire L2 / Novatac 85P / HDS 42XR / Peak LED Caribbean brass / Fenix L2D Rebel / Peak LED Matterhorn 3LED HA / Inova X03 / Inova X5 / Fenix E1

  23. #23
    Flashaholic* xcel730's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    NY
    Posts
    1,727

    Default Re: Which NovaTac? P or T?

    I would go with the 120P. I got it and love it. Reading the manual online seems confusing, but once you play with the flashlight while reading it, it's pretty straightforward ... and once you set your Novie, you could keep it in that setting forever. I only tinkered the settings once or twice after I got it.

    Don't get too caught up on the naming convention of the 120P. The Primary, Secondary, Min, and Max could be set up anyway you want. For tactical purpose, you could set your either set your primary setting to max or have your Max setting the default mode when you turn the flashlight on. You could do something like:

    (1) Primary - 120 lumens
    (2) Secondary - anything you want
    (3) Minimum - anything you want
    (4) Maximum - Strobe

  24. #24

    Default Re: Which NovaTac? P or T?

    That about sums it up for me.

    Quote Originally Posted by sawlight View Post
    I think the p is the cats meow!!! One click is 10, push and hold it's 120. That easy!! Look at the car, push and hold to scare the drunk, let off and do you're paper work. Push and hold again when the drunk gets ancy.
    But you can program it any way you like, and not have to worry about the tailcap getting clicked when you put it in a pocket.

  25. #25
    Flashaholic Knifekulture's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Southern Indiana
    Posts
    166

    Default Re: Which NovaTac? P or T?

    Quote Originally Posted by gottawearshades View Post
    That about sums it up for me.
    +1
    SUREFIRE M3-G3-6Z-C2-6PD-E2D-E1B-E2DL-LX2 / NOVATAC 120P / LUMAPOWER IncenDio-Q5 / FENIX L1D-Q5,P1D-Q5,L0D-Q4 / ZEBRALIGHT H30-Q5 / NITECORE Extreme,EX10-Q5,D10-R2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •