How to use distance to alter LED power?

Jarl

Flashlight Enthusiast
So I was thinking, is there any way to link a distance measurer to LED current? i.e, something 20 metres away, LED current is 650ma, something 2 metres away, LED current is 150ma and 30 metres gives 1000ma to the LED. I've no experience with circuits, would this be possible? (or even, practical!)

Mr Happy

Flashlight Enthusiast
There's always a way.

It seems like you want to adjust brightness according to how far away the target is.

A reasonable way to do this would be to fit a reflected light sensor on the front of the light. If no light is reflected back the light comes on at full brightness. However, if a lot of light is reflected back (e.g. you shine the light on something a few inches away) the light output is dimmed to reduce dazzle.

This would be a reasonably simple circuit to come up with I think, for someone familiar with electronics.

Jarl

Flashlight Enthusiast
There's always a way.

It seems like you want to adjust brightness according to how far away the target is.

A reasonable way to do this would be to fit a reflected light sensor on the front of the light. If no light is reflected back the light comes on at full brightness. However, if a lot of light is reflected back (e.g. you shine the light on something a few inches away) the light output is dimmed to reduce dazzle.

This would be a reasonably simple circuit to come up with I think, for someone familiar with electronics.

Although that would work, I'm planning to use it as a helmet mount while mountain biking, so chances are there'd be interference from my bar lights. I mean, your circuit would be fairly simple- LDR and a driver which varies output according to resistance and play around with fixed resistors to give the correct change, but I'm not so sure if it would work because of the bar mounted lights.

Marduke

Flashaholic