Change voltage keep amperage?

shinbone

Newly Enlightened
I have an AC to 6VDC power supply with 500mA output (wall-wart), the project I'm working on requires 5VDC/500mA and was wondering what I can do to safely reduce the voltage without reducing the output current. Resistor on the output leads, or break open the adapter and swap some components to change the output, etc?

Thanks in advance for any help you can provide.

Helmut.G

Enlightened
there are electronic components that do exactly what you want to, cut down the voltage to 5 V, but I'm not an expert and thus can't give you exact info
I'm sure someone will know and post here soon

HKJ

Flashaholic
I have an AC to 6VDC power supply with 500mA output (wall-wart), the project I'm working on requires 5VDC/500mA and was wondering what I can do to safely reduce the voltage without reducing the output current. Resistor on the output leads, or break open the adapter and swap some components to change the output, etc?

There are a couple of options:

1) A resistor, this only works at one current. I.e. it is a very unstable option, do not use it.

2) A diode, this will drop 0.6 to 0.7 volts when loaded. This is way better than a resistor, but not perfect.

3) A LDO (Low dropout) regulator, this will keep a stabilized output voltage, probably way better than the original supply, but may be to expensive (Depending on where your can get the LDO regulator).

4) A new adapter with 5 volt output, this is a very cheap solution and does not requires any skill to make it work.

shinbone

Newly Enlightened
Thank you for the replies everyone.

I am upgrading my manual mini-mill to CNC to make some flashlight parts and the breakout board for the drivers/steppers is what is needing the 5VDC. It's designed to utilize a USB power hookup but the laptop I'm using has no USB ports. It's sounding like I should cough up the big bucks and buy the proper supply.