questions on battery specs

itsmejaytee

Newly Enlightened
hi, i am still new to this whole this so i want to do some research before i start buying stuff.

ok so first off, if a torch says that it accepts 2xcr123a, 2x16340, or 1x17670, which one out of the three would be better? or are they all the same. When i say better i mean most bang for your buck vs best performance out of your torch.

Second Ive seen, lets say cr123a batteries, rate them selves at 3.0v @ 650 mah, and 3.7v @ 1000mah, and a bunch more ranging in between. My question is, does more volts mean more power? or more life? or is more mah more power? or just more life.

Last edited by a moderator:

DM51

Flashaholic
Welcome to CPF, itsmejaytee.

I think this would be better dealt with one thing at a time, so I've edited some slightly contentious references from the last part of your post. I'll move the thread into the batteries section, and when you have received answers to your questions, perhaps then would be the time to return to the question of which light might best suit you.

mdocod

Flashaholic
Hi there, welcome to CPF ! :welcome:

hi, i am still new to this whole this so i want to do some research before i start buying stuff.

ok so first off, if a torch says that it accepts 2xcr123a, 2x16340, or 1x17670, which one out of the three would be better? or are they all the same. When i say better i mean most bang for your buck vs best performance out of your torch.

How the torch will react to the various power options will vary from torch to torch just depending on what electronics are used to regulate the LED. BTW you'll only find these types of broad sweeping power options on regulated LED flashlights.

A general rule of thumb is that lights listed as compatible with "2xcr123a, 2x16340, or 1x17670," will have the following characteristics: