Flashlight recommendations for camping

bloodshot

Newly Enlightened
Hello,

First time here. I'm new to purchasing a flashlight besides those cheaps ones you find in random stores. So I did some search here but I feel I do not have enough time to really research much as I want to because I will go needing a flashlight for camping very soon. Taking the time to research and order might kill some time.

Hopefully this is where you veterans can lend a hand. Thanks.

I will be going up to Maine and I guess I need something that I can carry (Not headlamp, belt,etc), throw light long distance and cover a good angle, have low and very bright output, last few days on the same battery, I can't decide if I want chargable or regular batteries (maybe I can use both?), and not too heavy.

Suggestions please...
Thanks again.

GPB

Enlightened
You might want to add a price cap as well, since lights can range in price from a few bucks to a few hundred. There's no sense having someone describe and recommend a great $150 light, if your budget is $50. I'd suggest you start out being economical. Until you start using some lights, its hard to know what your preferences are. You might buy a light that's a twist on, and dicover you really prefer clickies, some people get very picky about the transition from spot to spill, some like heft, some like dainty. By having your first few lights be cheapies, when you graduate to expensive lights, you are less likely to buy something that never gets used. Plus, I now have lights that I can lend out, let my kids use, etc without risking the nice stuff.

I'd also suggest the AA battery format as its pretty easy to find regular cells, recharchables and lithiums, and they are universally available. Some Ma & Pa store in Maine might not have CR123's. If you end up getting a light that uses C or D batteries down the road, you can still use your AA rechargables in them.

Good luck. Let us know what you get and what you like and don't like about it.