Clicky vs Twisty

Status
Not open for further replies.

Inconceivable

Newly Enlightened
I tried the search tool but couldn't find a good argument between the two styles. I know much of it is personal preference but I would like to know are there any reliability factors between the two? While we are at it how about the reliability between forward and reverse clicky. Thanks for your input. P.S. I am a noob to this stuff so be gentle :)

Aluminous

Enlightened
I tried the search tool but couldn't find a good argument between the two styles. I know much of it is personal preference but I would like to know are there any reliability factors between the two? While we are at it how about the reliability between forward and reverse clicky. Thanks for your input. P.S. I am a noob to this stuff so be gentle :)

I think that generally the most reliable is twisty, second is forward clicky, and third is reverse clicky.

Generally you can't do tactical-style 'instant-on/off' momentary operation with a reverse clicky switch, as additional clicks cycle through modes immediately instead of turning the light on and off. While with forward clicky, you can do momentary.

Twisties that can be twisted on and off single-handed can be used similar to momentary, and some of them also incorporate a momentary-only tailcap button.

LED-holic

Flashlight Enthusiast
FWIW I don't like twisties as much, even though I had Maglites with twisties since long ago. It may be more reliable but I've not had a problem with any clicky failing yet. It's just not very convenient to twist a bezel to turn on a light or operate its modes. It's cumbersome with one hand while a clicky is so much easier to operate single handedly.

The best solution imho is the PD design by McGizmo. In the NiteCore Smart PD lights it can be used as a twisty, momentary, or regular clicky. Truly awesome design. :)

Bradlee

Enlightened