Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best headlamp for conditions I run at night

Default Best headlamp for conditions I run at night

Hi guys. I had no ideas there were so many lamps out on the market. I'd really appreciate some help since I have no experience with headlamps.

I run in mountain trails at night. The trails have a lot of large stones. The stones can be like very large gravel and they are very pointed. I like to run at a good clip. Also, where I run not too far outside the city, so there is some backlight going on. Complicating everything there are small trees on either side of the trail. This means that there is some light on the trees, but the trees keep the light from off the trail. To compound things I can't see the poorly lit trail through the light reflecting off the trees.

I like to run at a good clip. I basically need to see about 10 to 20 feet ahead of me so I can navigate through the stones.

I think what I need is something with a wide angle, very bright. An external battery pack would be nice. With no batteries on my head, I won't have to worry about them bouncing off. I don't care how heavy it is. I carry a back pack full of water, so a little more weight doesn't matter.

If you can help me find a good lamp, you'll know that you kept a guy from hurting himself.

A guy that loves to run,
    Bob
    Last edited by unckybob; 08-02-2008 at 10:37 AM. Reason: bad grammar

Default Re: Best headlamp for conditions I run at night

Hi! Could be you need a Petzl Ultra?
    Here's a link to whats some consider the top of the line in headlamp$$$
    From this you can scale down to what might be adequate. You've a tricky
    situation with the city lights messing up your eyes dark adaptation.

http://en.petzl.com/ultra/range-ultra-belt.html
    Last edited by hopkins; 08-02-2008 at 11:06 AM.

Petzl Ultra:
    http://en.petzl.com/ultra/range-ultra-belt.html

and of course I like the low cost of this Primus Race headlamp: