Beast B1R Primary Handle

DCarlton

Newly Enlightened
Hi,

I just got my Beast B1R and have a question, Do the primary and rechargeable handles LED/OFF/HID switching mechanism 'Feel' different.

The Primary Cell (CR123) handle is not as smooth as the Secondary (Li-ion) handle's rotary switch. The Primary handle feels like it contains a ratchet mechanism, unlike the rechargeable that is smooth like a U2/Kroma/PKEF selector ring.

Any help is appreciated

Thanks

Dan

ShortArc

Enlightened
I am no expert but I do believe this is "normal". Both switches feel different as you indicated.
Regards.

seery

Flashlight Enthusiast
According to Surefire, they designed each handle with a unique switch so operators
could easily tell them apart in adverse and/or hostile environments.

"Tactical Braille" is the term.

Enjoy your new light.

dudemar

Flashlight Enthusiast
According to Surefire, they designed each handle with a unique switch so operators

Wow who knew? That's pretty cool!:huh:

ShortArc

Enlightened
I don't know....I think the difference in both handle length and color tail bumper would have been enough of a clue for me :grin2:

Enjoy your new light.

DCarlton

Newly Enlightened
I think all the differences add up to aid the user in the differentiation between handles. Clandestine operation may not allow you to use light untill... Its really needed for example and you want it filled with fresh primarys, not a half depleted rechargable.

Using Sight, touch, and feel together may aid memory retention, to help out when its needed.

You put the two handles down next to eachother while changing them, are them distracted for a moment, which ones being replaced?

ShortArc

Enlightened
Sorry, to me the switch thing is complete nonsense. If you can't see the handles for size or color try weight. If you can not remember any of that than, well... To me the rechargeable handle switch is just too easy to manipulate...enough said on my behalf.