Butane lighter for outdoor

Erasmus

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi there,

Since several months I'm looking for a good butane lighter to use during camping trips. I have been looking for the Vector (by KGM) Gear but it's nowhere available and Vector confirmed the model is discontinued. Are there any other recommendations? Please only post if you have experience with certain lighters, thanks :) I'm new to the lighteraholism but I'd like to buy a good first one ;)

Thanks in advance for your help!
Raf

Gatsby

Enlightened
I've been completely satisfied with my basic Windmill butane lighter like this one - rugged, reliable and very very windproof. A bit more expensive but I've never had it conk out on me unlike some other lighters.

(Moderator note: Removed hotlinked pic IAW CPF rules...)

Last edited by a moderator:

AeroNautiCal

Newly Enlightened
Hello,

I have two of these Silva Helios Storm Lighters and I am very impressed with them. They have a lanyard, fuel sight gauge, adjustable flame, are waterproof and float.

One lives in my personal survival kit in my PFD (personal flotation device, AKA life jacket) and the other in my day pack.

http://www.silva.se/templates/Products____97.aspx?epslanguage=EN&productId={1E485C83-ACC0-430C-8CD6-865C28E58413}

Hope this helps.

Last edited:

doubleganger

Enlightened
I've had to return my windmill lighter twice for repairs, once because the lid wouldn't latch down and once because it wouldn't light and I had never really used it very much at all. I've ordered a Vector Thunderbird hoping that a flint produced spark will be more reliable than pieszo. We'll see.

limetrude

Newly Enlightened