Beginner question about P7 current draw

cd-card-biz

Enlightened
I have built up two P7 lights, both DD:

M*g 3D, CSXOI, 3 x 10,000mAH NiMH
M*g 1D, DSWOJ, 1 x AW C-LiIon - 3300mAH

I think the P7 is rated max output at 2.8A. I measure my lights at the tailcap and only get:

M*g 3D = 2.45A
M*g 1D = 2.06A

So it would appear I'm not getting max output. Should I be doing something like resistance mods to get more current through the LED's?

Obviously, I'm fairly new at this and appreciate the advise. BTW, the LED's are quality components from PhotonFanatic.

Many thanks!

Mettee

Enlightened
I am in your same boat, I would like to get as much as possible out of my P7's as well. I am building the 3a driver/pwm solution that stephan uses for in his. But as far as batteries I think what you have is top notch. Use good wire(got mine from mudman cj per stephan's suggestion) and maybe add the braided copper wire to the tail cap spring to lesson the resistance?

So what do you see from your lights as far as a difference in brightness from the two types of batteries? Just curious, I am thinking AW C lion as well. I really would like to use an FM 3x17670 holder and a driver that would regulate correctly, I would like mine to run a while on max levels.

I am new to this as well so I have a lot to figure out.

BTW I have the same emitters from the same place.

Drew

Last edited:

baterija

Flashlight Enthusiast
Resistance mods like this could help. That thread talks about an old dirty switch measured as having "18 to 100 ohms" and applying progold dropping it to "6 or 8 miliohms." The rest of the mods only got it down to 1.43 milliohms measured so there are diminishing returns for the work. Try cleaning all your contacts and see what it gets you.

GSteg

Newly Enlightened
Although I am not DD'ing, I did use 20 gauge wiring for my install. Forget about the OEM metal tabs and such. They're bottlenecks. I'm getting 2.8A from the tailcap.

lctorana

Flashlight Enthusiast