2x 20W LED - advice needed for cooling and building

AndersAR

Newly Enlightened
Hello, my first post here. I was told to try and get some advice here after posting my build-thread on a bicycle-forum.

I've started building my own 2x20W LED bicycle light, for the purpose of singeltrack riding.

So far, I've built a carbonfiber housing with 2 "barrels" close to each other, with an approx. diameter of 45mm of each barrel.
The LED modules are Edison Opto 20W (bright white, 5000-10000 K)
Battery is Powerizer 5200 mAh 12V LiFe-PO4.
Driver was included from the seller, 1A rated output at 12-14V if I remember correctly.

However, after some building time, wireing and measuring, I've come to a hault. I'm having trouble getting satisfied with the cooling of the modules.
I've tried 2 different aluminium heatsinks, but I'm not happy so far.
I'm a civil engineer by profession, hence, I want to be as conservative as possible when it comes to cooling. My target was staying ~10 C below max rated temp when "standing still" with my bike - meaning there would be virtually NO air traveling across the heatsink, besides the flow generated by the difference in temperature.

So, anyone with some advice/help for me, in regards to:
-Keeping the temperature down
-Fitting all together without too much exposure to "foreign elements" like water & snow
-Lenses with a spreading angel of about 15 degrees.

The max temp rating is about 60 C, and I reach this temperature in about 2-3 minutes of testing.
The likelyhood of standing still for so long during the cold & dark periods of the winter is small, but I want to make sure everything works flawless before bringing my rigg outdoors.

Pictures of the building process and components so far;

Building the housing for the light
karbonskall.jpg

Almost done, just need some final cutting, grinding and clearcoat.
karbonskall3.jpg

3 of the 4 20W LED I purchased for the project
led01.jpg