Some photos of my new kitchen 18 Cree light

reptiles

Enlightened
This is my first attempt at a large LED fixture. It is wired directly into the ceiling. In addition to the 18 Crees (15 white and 3 red to warm the color index); I added X10 wireless remote control to activate the LEDs or the T8 tubes (which I retained, but rarely use because they are too bright.)

I got the fixture at Lowes; LED supplies from the Shoppe, and X10 stuff off the net (http://www.thehomeautomationstore.com/kr22a.html). Took about 4 hours including a short trip to RadioShack for some terminal strips and machine bolts.

The fixture "cloud" cover is a translucent plastic that perfectly blends the light from all the LEDs into a shadowless even illumination. It is smaller than the last fixture that was up there so I need to repaint the ceiling to get rid of the discoloration around the edges of the cloud.

When looking up at the fixture, one can see 3 large islands of brighter areas because the LEDs are mounted in 3 banks of 6 emitters (Cree XR-E LED's mounted to MCPC strips from the Shoppe.)

The LEDs are attached with heat sink compound (and bolts) to the 4 foot aluminum strip that covers the balast (for the tubes) and now the drivers for the LEDs too. The aluminum strip has several 30 degree facets, so I oriented two Cree arrays towards the food prep area, and 1 array towards the dining area. For some reason, it seems more light gets bounced around if the LEDs face the diffusion screen at an angle, rather than perpendicular. All 120vac is totally enclosed in grounded aluminum. Not an electrical code expert, but tried to make this as safe as possible.

Photos show only LED illumination.

Hope you find it as interesting as I do. I suspect it will pay for itself in a few years in energy savings. I ran it for 3 days straight just to insure that it didn't overheat, burst out in flames, etc. lol

Regards,

Mark

led1.jpg

led2.jpg

led3.jpg

led4.jpg

Last edited:

McGizmo

Flashaholic