LED Replacement for MR16 low voltage

gks

Newly Enlightened
Would appreciate if anyone could give me advice on possibly replacing my 50 watt Halogen MR16 bulbs with LED bulbs. I'm an artist and have my paintings displayed in my own Gallery set-up. I'm running about 50 seperate lights and the energy bill is adding up. I started researching the LED MR16 bulbs but there are so many out there I have no clue which are the best quality? Which will most closely resemble the light quality of the halogens? Which will last the longest? Which are capable of dimming, and which are the most reasonable in price? Below are the specs on the recessed housings I have installed: With 50 plus bulbs to replace, this is a huge investment for me and I can't afford to make the mistake of buying the wrong lamps. Any suggestions?
Thanks!
(1) 12V 50W MR16; 50W max., GU5.3 base Thermally protected Magnetic Class H Transformer is prewired,
120V in/12V out. Can be used with low voltage, magnetic dimming controls for optimal control of illumination

Ken_McE

Flashlight Enthusiast
There are 12 volt DC MR-16's on eBay, but none of them will have the output of a 50 watt incan, and I would be concerned about color rendering.

blasterman

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm an artist and have my paintings displayed in my own Gallery set-up

Then go with MR-16 / 12 volt Solux Halogens. I work with fine art photography, and Solux Halogens are really the default standard when it comes to rendering art color art work with precision. At $7-8 apiece, they are also your cheapest option.