LED circuit

LED 1001

Newly Enlightened
I am about the newest member at CPF when I am writing this:party:. I am still new to electronics and would like to know how to wire LED's from, say, 2 AA's, in parallel. Could anyone post some diagrams here? THANKS!!!

LED 1001

Newly Enlightened
Like I said, I'm new to electronics. What is the box thing? Also, my LED's are not like that one in the picture. They are like a small rounded cylinder with two leads, one long, and one short.
Thanks!

Morelite

Flashlight Enthusiast
Like I said, I'm new to electronics. What is the box thing? Also, my LED's are not like that one in the picture. They are like a small rounded cylinder with two leads, one long, and one short.
Thanks!
The box thingy is a Mircopuck driver, that is a DC-DC converter that can be configured as a buck driver or a boost driver. A buck driver will lower the supply voltage down to the LED's Vf (forward voltage) and a boost driver will increase the supply voltage (Vin) to the LED's Vf.
You most likely have standard 5mm LED's, the one in that pic was a Luxoen star with a LuxI or LuxIII on it.

You can wire up your 2 LED's as shown in that pic but without the Micropuck. Wire you positive wire to the same lead on both LED's and the negative wire to the other 2 leads, if the LED's don't light reverse the two wires. IIRC the shorter lead is and anode (positive).

zipplet

Flashlight Enthusiast
Yes you definately need a resistor. Here is a useful link for you:

http://led.linear1.org/1led.wiz

Use this wizard to determine what resistor you need from the battery voltage (3V), the LED vF and current (check your datasheet). Easy peasy :)

Edit: you can choose a wizard for multiple LEDs too on that same page.

Fallingwater

Flashlight Enthusiast
Different LEDs have different voltages, and thus need to be driven differently.
For example:

I thought a resistor was needed...