Astronomy green vs blu ray question

iemand

Newly Enlightened
Hi all,

I am an amateur astronomer and I and some friends use 5 mW green pointers for aiming our telescopes. We are very happy with these, however we experience the DPSS greenies to die after a while at below freezing temperatures. It happens because the optical train gets out of collimation due cold shrinkage. Baseline : we can't target our telescopes when it freezes. It's not the batteries. Once the laser unit itself is frozen, new, warm batteries don't get it back to work.

I know a single unit diode laser would not die at cold temps. We have 2 different options :

1° I can make us a set of 200mW reds from DVD writers that are about as visible to the human eye as a 5mW green Lpointer, but most of us are a bit nervous by the thought of using 200mW lasers at a place where several people gather, including kids sometimes. It's like waiting for an accident to happen.

2° A lower mW blu ray may be safer. I was thinking that a 10-20mW blu ray may be about as visible as a 5mW green. But I'm not sure as I've never seen a blu ray beam before... What is a minimal mW for a blu ray to give a visible beam to the human eye in the dark?

Remember, we don't need a really bright beam. Barely visible in the dark is just fine -think the brightness of a 5mW green-. What is more important than brightness is that it doesn't die from cold.

Thanks!

2xTrinity

Flashlight Enthusiast
2° A lower mW blu ray may be safer. I was thinking that a 10-20mW blu ray may be about as visible as a 5mW green. But I'm not sure as I've never seen a blu ray beam before... What is a minimal mW for a blu ray to give a visible beam to the human eye in the dark?

I suspect that 20mW would probably be sufficient to match a 5mW green in open air for apparent brightness. The green will still be brighter overall, but the violet (405nm) will have a greater tendency to scatter in the air.

Lmtfi

Newly Enlightened