Lithium 123 battery "vent event" FAQs?

DHart

Flashlight Enthusiast
As a newbie here, just discovering this awesome sight, I've been thrilled to read about all the cool new flashlights. I bought a Surefire Z2 Combat and E2 Executive a few years ago and love them. And I'm JUST NOW discovering what's been going on lately in the world of flashlights... EXCITING STUFF. Now, I want to buy a more powerful LED flashlight like the Olight M20 or JetBeam III-M and have questions about the safety of using CR123 batteries. I didn't realize how dangerous these batteries could be and have spent the last few hours pouring through a lot of threads here which discuss CR123 battery "vent events."

My understanding from reading and searching here is that if one is going to use a flashlight with two or more CR123 batteries, the following is important to reduce likelihood of a vent event:

1) Use best-quality USA-made batteries
2) Test the batteries before use to match them by charge level; even new batteries should be matched before use
3) Never mix brands of batteries, or new and used batteries together
4) stop using batteries BEFORE they are completely depleted

Have I missed anything here in this summary?

In the same concern for "vent event" prevention, I have some questions:

1) Are LED flashlights less likely to have a vent event than incandescent flashlights are?

2) Are there any particular flashlight models which offer electronic features which greatly reduce the likelihood of a vent event? If so, what are they?

3) If a flashlight model (like the JetBeam III-M) allows the options of the three battery choices shown below, which is the safest battery choice, to reduce likelihood of a vent event?

•18650 Li-On
•RCR123 x 2
•CR123 x 2

A FAQ or STICKY which sumarizes this stuff would be great. (Unless one already exists, and I've missed it.)