Flashlight recommendation needed for boating

Megalops

Newly Enlightened
I'm a newbie to flashlights. I often times am driving my small flats skiff at night, and need a light to lightup the channel markers. I used to use a rechargeable Qbeam, but found it difficult to use due to the light spill which reflects off my white boat at night. I now use a fenix P3D which works very well lighting up channel markers at about 100+ yards. I'd like to get a more powerful light which will lightup markers at a farther distance.

My requirements include:
1. not much larger than the fenix I already got
2. waterproof
3. hopefully less than $100

I found the Jetbeam M1X for $149, but am not sure if this light is what I'm looking for. It also exceeds my price range by a bit, but I would consider it if it would be ideal. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:

hyperloop

Flashlight Enthusiast
Well, since you say waterproof and not water resistant, i would think that the Jetbeam M1X is the light for you. Better to spend a bit more and get a quality light then to save some tens of dollars and have a light fail on you. Alternatively is the Jet III Pro Ultra meant for throw. You could also check here and get one with high lux numbers for throwing purposes.

I have bitten the bullet on the M1X and put my order in with my own suppplier along with the cell extender so have options of running 2x18650 cells or 4xRCR123s (im thinking 14.4 volts is gonna be a huge increase in light!! and carry 2x18650s as spares). It will be on its way once i transfer funds (be still my credit card). :D

I am so glad i didnt be hasty and get a cheaper budget (you know where i'm coming from) P7 or MC-E light. I own a few Jetbeams, Jet I Mk II, Jet II Pro IBS, Jet III Pro ST and i can tell you, these lights are great, high output for when you really need it, programmable output to balance lumens vs runtime.