Another noob here

ClancyO

Newly Enlightened
Hi, my name is Clancy, and I'm a flashaholic.

I've been lurking for a while, but last Thursday I finally ordered my first, my soon to be edc - a fenix PD20 (Q5) - and I've been checking the tracking everyday. It'll be home when I get there tonight, and I can't wait! This is surely a sign of addiction – I haven't even had my first taste yet!!

So… What's the next step? Help me feed my new addiction. I'm guessing something more tactical next – something along the lines of P6 sized (but probably not a surefire yet as my wife might object to that sort of coin.)

NotSoBrightBob

Newly Enlightened
Welcome aboard CPF..... You will love the PD20. Good choice for jumping right in. Don't rule out a Surefire G2 or even a 6P they are both close in price to what you have and will introduce you to the Surefire line. Don't expect equal performance as I'm sure your Fenix will be brighter than eiter of those two surefires but raw lumen numbers is only part of the equation that makes this hobby fun.

Play with the PD20 and figure out what you like and don't like then start looking for a light that has your desired features.

Most of all don't think you have to spend hundreds of dollars on a new light to get all excited. the Wally World and Target aisles sometimes have a find in there for us Flashaholics.

Enjoy!

Bob

ClancyO

Newly Enlightened
Thanks Bob,

I am a noob - apparently all the 6Ps I saw the first pass were tricked out versions - I didn't realize I could just buy a 'standard' 6P so 'affordable' and start modding. This could get bad...

wford

Newly Enlightened
I'm a new member here also and look forward to the input on this thread. I'm getting started with a nitecore d10. I find that just one flashlight gives me an excuse to look at all the battery options and chargers that go along with them.

Just reading about the mods and customs is alot of fun too.

HKJ

Flashaholic
So… What's the next step?