• You must be a Supporting Member to participate in the Candle Power Forums Marketplace.

You can become a Supporting Member.

Connecting driver boards to heatsinks

yazkaz

Flashlight Enthusiast
Sorry to be ignorant, but I am an electronics noob and constantly have problems understanding how to connect these driver boards.

I understand that some boards have separate VIn and GND ports (eg. SOB), some have
VIn/GND in one single location, some have LED-/GND in one location, while others have no GND (eg. GD).
How should these boards be wired to heatsinks?
Must all boards be grounded? What's the reason for grounding the boards?
In the case of GD, how should it be wired in a custom sink w/ground screw?
And for SOB, how should it be wired? Does it have anode pad at the bottom? If the anode pad is used, should the VIn port be ignored?
I need some answers soon.

Justin Case

Flashlight Enthusiast
The SOB has an anode pad on the non-component side. As a concrete example, you can put down a solder pad on the anode and attach a small conical spring as the contact to top terminals of batteries.

My DMM shows continuity between the anode pad and Vin, so presumably, you don't need to do anything further with Vin if you use the anode pad connection.

Have you looked at the Shoppe's web page for the image for wiring the SOB?

There is a pair of LED- holes near J6 and a pair of LED+ holes near J5. You can use either LED- hole to solder a wire lead that connects to the negative connection of an LED. Similarly, you can use either LED+ hole to solder a wire lead that connects to the positive connection of an LED.

There are two LED- and two LED+ holes available to allow you to make a "sandwich" out of a stack of parallel SOBs to get more output current. See for example, https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/221244