Just bought a Nikon D40

jeremyison05

Newly Enlightened
So the wife and I have been getting into photography as a hobby quite a bit lately, today we just made the plunge into DSLR's and bought a Nikon D40. To those of you who are camera savvy, what direction do I go now as far as lenses go. I'd like a good macro lense eventually but that's not a priority, as the 18-55mm that comes with it does decent close shots. I foresee this hobby being much more expensive than flashlights, and I think i'm going to go hide my wallet now.

I'll post my favorite shot from today once it gets up on photobucket so you guys can give me some pointers

[URL=http://s296.photobucket.com/albums/mm178/jeremyi05/?action=view&current=e2716d7f.jpg]
[/URL]

Last edited:

Erasmus

Flashlight Enthusiast
Congrats on your purchase, that's one nice camera you got there! I'm just a beginner as well, so don't take my comments too serious. The posted photo is underexposed and not focussed properly I think. Try to improve those 2 factors and it will look much better I think.

If I were you I would not buy any more lenses for now. The 18-55mm is a good lens to start and I would rather improve my photography skills on this lens before buying something else.

jeremyison05

Newly Enlightened
The shot was taken in-doors, so it is a bit dark, but I could lighten up the RAW file and change that. I was probably pushing the up close limits of the lense in this picture, as I was extremely close, but the ones I tried focusing manually instead of letting the camera do it didn't really turn out any better. I cant wait to walk through the woods with it tomorrow.

I won't be looking to buy any lenses any time soon, until I figure out what type of pictures i'll be wanting to take alot of. Seems like I may want to go for a macro lense first since I really enjoy taking close pictures of flowers and such.

Anyway, thanks for the comments Erasmus.

Hoggy

Newly Enlightened