LED Troubleshooting guide (budget lights)

nakamoomin

Newly Enlightened
I've just been introduced to the world of LED lighting. Over the last two weeks I've received two lights from an undisclosed (but very popular) dealer in HongKong (DX).

These so-called budget lights are great value, but both have been "twitchy". The first (Romisen RC-F4) had an issue with its switch being unreliable. The second (MTE "P7-D", 5-mode) had a flickering issue. I'm sure others have problems with budget lights, and therefore I've made this tiny troubleshooting guide. Feel free to comment as I am a noob with regards to LED flashlights (except for a Luxeon I bikelight I designed and built for an engineering project in university a few years back).

OK! Here goes!

3397776193_f9e84074e9_o.jpg

my lights

These are the lights I will use today (I also have a DX Pig-light, but I've never had any issues with it, so recon these are maintenance-free, ha ha), the Romisen RC-F4 and the MTE "P7-D" (5-mode).

DIM OUTPUT

1) Check the batteries!
If output is dim, but there is no flickering issue, the battery is a likely culprit. Some voltage-regulating circuitry may also flicker when the voltage drops, but this is rare. Remember: If your light uses more than one battery you need to be EXTREMELY careful not to mix-and-match batteries of different capacity or voltage. If you suspect that one of the batteries are dead (sometimes even brand new ones are dead) remove them and get them checked. This goes for all lithium-based batteries, primaries as well as rechargeables. Consider purchasing protected cells as well.

2) Check the LED
3397852647_da4a2cb8a5_o.jpg

Visually inspect the LED to see if it shows any sign of being "burnt" (discoloration, dark spots). This should be visible through the lens.

3) Check the solder-points and contact-points
3397891395_07beeb9ffa_o.jpg