Energizer Lithiums in any device?

Medicdude

Newly Enlightened
I bought a couple packs of these and I'm assuming I can put them into any device? What makes them different than a Li-Ion. As far as I know Li-Ion can only go in device made for it, correct? forgive me as I'm fairly new to this.

ltiu

Flashlight Enthusiast
I bought a couple packs of these and I'm assuming I can put them into any device? What makes them different than a Li-Ion. As far as I know Li-Ion can only go in device made for it, correct? forgive me as I'm fairly new to this.

Li-On are 3.7+ volts.

Energizer Lithiums are 1.5+ volts.

Li-On is rechargeable.

Energizer Lithium is throwaway after use.

You can put Energizer Lithium into any device that uses alkaline.

You cannot do the same with Li-On.

gswitter

Flashlight Enthusiast
The Energizer L91 primaries are closer to 1.7V, and the voltage doesn't sag nearly as much under load as alkaline cells. The L91s work fine in most devices, but have been known to fry a few - like the Streamlight Pro-Poly 4AA Luxeon. Unfortunately, other than manufacturers recommendations or trial and error, there's no way to know which devices can't handle the extra voltage (or lack of voltage sag).

VidPro

Flashlight Enthusiast
some devices the high voltage that it HOLDS is to high, regulators heat up, more direct drive items the led can burn out sooner, generally things that run very HARD on a regular alkaline or ni-nh might run TOO hard via a lithium.
many times the info of which battery, is in the manuel you didnt need :) or read.

hmmm a guess summary: (in no way conclusive) From Alkaline (or ni-mh) to Lithium 1.5v E2 L-91 kinda things.

almost always NO for direct drive LED lights, with no regulator, these things were dependant on sagging. often things with 3&4 batteries.

almost always YES for single AA regulated LED flashlights, and 2 battery flashlight items. they had to boost up anyways.