Is there an idiot's guide to LED emitters and 'drivers'?

underground

Newly Enlightened
Hi everyone - I didn't see an intro thread so I'm just wading in with the first of what will probably be a lot of questions! I'm a beginner to lighting - being a caver I own a Speleotechnics FX-ION with 14 LEDs but they are getting bit old and dim, so I'm looking at self build options.

I'm keen to learn some fundamentals of LED technology and the associated 'drivers', or bucks, or regulators, or whatever other things are out there.

I'd like to know how to select the componenets, really - and find a solution to my dilemma:

How does a man select a suitable 'driver' for a given LED or two? I think I want to use 2 x Cree XR-E R2 emitters at 1W each, judging by the Googling I've done, and I think it's be nice to

a: Run them at different power levels
b: Possibly independent of each other or together
c: Using both Alkaline and NiMh 'AA' batteries or other options (such as LiIon batteries, etc.)
d: Fit it all inside a mining headlamp (not the batteries :laughing:)

I know there are a number of commercially available solutions, but I'd quite like to do this to learn something, and if at all possible, save a decent amount of cash in the process....

Thanks for reading!

Marduke

Flashaholic
I recommend starting here. Once you read through that, feel free to ask your remaining questions and we'll guide you through your LED learning experience.

And from a fellow caver, :welcome:

yellow

Flashlight Enthusiast
why individually settable led?

2 led in series, one wide beam, one tighter (depending on the caves You are in, possibly better both with medium flood)
one multilevel driver
one switch to operate

--> smaller, easier to do, cheaper, less things that can go bad

underground

Newly Enlightened
Thanks for all the replies guys - I'll check the link first and see how I get on.