Installing pcb in Ti Arc AAA

malamalama

Newly Enlightened
Just received the Ti Arc AAA kit. Could someone please explain to a total beginner how to install the LE's? I tried pushing the smaller LE into the head but don't think it went all the way in. Part of the copper base was still extended below the head section. Then tried installing the bigger LE and it seemed to sit better, and the bottom was equal to the bottom edge of the head section. Put one spacer washer over the battery and tried screwing the two together. The light came on, but the head and body were still far apart. I could still see some of the rubber washer.

Also, another dumb question. Which way is the sticky side of the foam spacer supposed to face? Towards the head or the battery? Thanks.

Last edited:

malamalama

Newly Enlightened
Re: Installing LE in Ti Arc AAA

Which way is the sticky side of the foam spacer supposed to face?

Thanks greenLED. Makes sense. Of course, my first question was going to be which side does the white part of the foam spacer go until I figured the out the white paper was just hiding the sticky side. That would have been an even dumber question!

Thanks sjalbrec. Looking at the diagram, my led is not sitting properly since the base extends beyond the edge. I also have the problem of when I screwed it in, there was a wide gap.

Is anyone else having problems fitting the LE inside or am I just not using enough force? When I had the gap, I though I could screw the head tighter and that would seat the LE, but it was pretty hard to screw after a certain point.

sjalbrec

Newly Enlightened

well malamalama, this is my first arc torch too. :)

i was able to push the 3mm all the way into the head. i then proceeded to tighten it all the way down with no problem. however, the light did not turn on and it looks like i smashed the duracel battery (the button is pushed in) :ohgeez:.