complete newb in realm of handheld scanners - advice very much appreciated

brighterisbetter

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm interested in purchasing some type of portable radio for my bug-out bag and think I have narrowed it down to a handheld scanner. First I considered one of countycomm's shortwaves, then I considered something from Oregon Scientific or even one of those windup Red Cross pieces of junk. I've decided that I want something a bit nicer that has multiple functions. So I checked out the uniden website for product descriptions and I'm afraid I'm lost.

Here's what I'd like to be able to do:
- monitor S.A.M.E. frequencies (I think these include weather and emergency channels, please correct me if I'm wrong)
- scan for available broadcasts rather than manually type in frequencies
- run on primary cells (preferably CR123's but I realize that may be tough, so probably a few L92 AA lithiums will suffice)
- digital is a must

I can't really think of anything else specifically because I honestly don't know what to look for. Do any handheld scanners have CB capabilities? What I mean by this is the ability to transmit as well as receive. As an example, say it's hurricane Katrina and I'm stuck in my attic while search-n-rescue crews are looking for survivors or whatever. I'd like to be able to either transmit my voice or a beacon signal or something to the appropriate authorities nofiying of my location/health/etc. I realize that you'd likely need a license of sorts in order to legally operate them, I just don't want to have to carry separate devices (GPS, Scanner, CB, etc.). And I'm sure that GPS mapping built-in is probably a no-go too. Do any handheld scanners have a built-in FM/AM frequency receptor for listening to broadcast commercial radio?