how many lumens from a single cell in the future

Barrie

Enlightened
Hello to you all
i am relatively new to this world of high power LEDs

i was only familiar with lights that were available to buy of the shelf in the shops and most of them are not very impressive

LED lights i had in the past were really not all that good for outdoor walking 3 and 5mm multi led

so i was totally amazed when i saw the amount of light that a single cell light is producing we are getting close to 100 lumens from a single AAA
well over 100 lumens from a AA and over 200 lumens from a Cr123

brighter and more efficient lights are coming out all the time so what can we realistically expect from a single cell light in the future :thinking:

Barrie

DM51

Flashaholic
This is principally a question of emitter efficiency/output, so i'm moving your thread from LED Flashlights to the LED forum.

Gunner12

Flashaholic
Currently, a single IMR RCR123 can power a quad die LED at full power or more, so that means 500-700 lumen out the front. Of course runtime is short.

In the future, 1000+ lumen from a LED powered by single cell that can handle a high current(like the IMR ones) should be possible.

jtr1962

Flashaholic
In the future, 1000+ lumen from a LED powered by single cell that can handle a high current(like the IMR ones) should be possible.
That's highly dependent upon the state of boost drivers in the future. Right now getting a boost driver to operate efficiently while drawing more than about 3 amps from a AA cell is problematic given the necessarily small size of the driver board.