Anyone know how they are made?

jgeck90

Newly Enlightened
Hey guys. Does anyone know how this EL light works? They have this new stuff that if very thin and they are putting it on shirts so they light up now. I was wondering how they power it? I seen them selling some race letters which were cool. Does anyone know how they get power to each letter? Does anyone know where to buy that thin material?
pretty much i would like to know how they are cut into the numbers/logos. How do the companies do it? I see them selling the sheets but can you cut them? What if i only make a small logo, what do you do with the rest?
Here is the sheet's i am talking about.
http://www.chinatopsupplier.com/d-p13638661-El_Wire/
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FV_43W5st4M

Last edited:

abbeytoo

Newly Enlightened
El Wire is wicked! I have been using it for about 4 years to decorate a car at christmas. I also made a bunch of stickman halloween costumes last year for a group of people.

Here are some purses I have used it on:

lgpinkparcel1-th.jpg
red2-th.jpg

pink2-th.jpg
pinkblue1-th.jpg

They are powered by a battery pack inverter, that can be switched on and off. You can buy the wire at lots of places online. There are kits which have a pre determined length of wire attached to the battery pack or you can buy bulk wire and solder the connectors to the wire, then hook it up to the inverter that is to be used. The length of wire determines which inverter/power source you need. It is fun stuff!

ab

jason 77

Enlightened
El Wire is wicked! I have been using it for about 4 years to decorate a car at christmas. I also made a bunch of stickman halloween costumes last year for a group of people.

lgpinkparcel1-th.jpg
red2-th.jpg

pink2-th.jpg
pinkblue1-th.jpg