Newbie question about best household duration light...

Alpha Strike

Newly Enlightened
First, my apologies to both the mods and veterans alike if I'm posting in the wrong place. I'm a newbie when it comes to flashlights and it can be difficult to figure out exactly what it is I'm looking for! With that in mind...

I'm looking for a general household light - something that I can toss aside on a bookshelf, desk-drawer, etc and count on to provide several hours of fairly good illumination in case of black-out, power-loss, Armageddon. I do NOT need a light that will run brighter then the sun but chew through batteries in 1-2 hours - longevity is a plus, and so is the ability to work even after taking a lot of abuse.

In reading through several different discussion lines, I've seen references to the Maglite brand in general, and several versions of the Pelican (7060, 2440, 2330, 2390 and Stealthlite.) Any other suggestions or recommendations?

Thanks all!

nbp

Flashaholic
Could you provide any more info about your needs or preferences? Such as:

How long should it last on a battery?
How much output?
Single mode or multi?
Do you care what type of batteries it takes?

These kinds of things will help narrow it down a bit.

And even though you have been a member for a while

:welcome:

Lighthouse one

Flashlight Enthusiast
Many of the Eagletac models are 2 level- with the lower level getting 8 hours runtime.

They have 2AA models, and a good assortment of cr123 battery models.

Several dealers on the site sell them

NonSenCe

Flashlight Enthusiast
below polar circle.. in country which used to make
interesting question.. i cant wait what people suggest :)

first to choose a price range.. do you have some or is it "no limit" as armageddon is near? is it?

decent quality light(s) (yeah buy a spare one too, for backup) are easier to suggest if the price range is established. there are options in different cathegories.