Lithium C Primaries in 2C Mag

headmotty

Newly Enlightened
Hi all - I'm a noob:eek:, and am looking for a little advice.

I have put 2 3V C cell lithium primaries in my 2C Mag. Since this now gives me 6V, I replaced the bulb with a Maglite Xenon 4C bulb (LMSA401). This is before I found all the available info, like the mod of making the sleeve to hold 3 123s, and putting that in a 2C.

Is my mod sound decent, or was it kinda dumb, since the lithium C cell primaries are kinda expensive? Is my setup with the 4C Xenon bulb going to eat the batteries fairly quickly?

This is for flashlights to keep in the cars for emergencies, so I just want simple mods to give me bright, but not crazy bright (no melting parts and all that), and I want good runtime, without spending too much. I have UCL lenses on the way to me now, by the way.

Would the 3X123s in the 2C body be smarter? I realize this would give me 9V, and could therefore use a brighter lamp, I guess, but again I don't want to plow through batteries. By the way, I do want to stick to primaries.

The way I have it now, with the C cell lithiums, would an LED drop-in, like the TerraLux TLE-6EX be a smarter choice with respect to battery life? I think the brightness would be about the same as the 4C Xenon bulb I'm running now, but I could be mistaken about that. I'm also aware that I could overdrive a 3C bulb, for greater brightness, but don't want to blow a bulb too quickly. Would overdriving a 3C bulb use more battery power than using the proper 4C bulb?

Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated!:D

Swedpat

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi headmotty,

3V C lithium primaries sounds interesting. I actually didn,t know these exist. Do you have a link with information about them?
I have a Maglite 2C in which I use 3xCR123 cells. But instead of an incan bulb I use a Malkoff 4-6C LED dropin. LINK. I tried to use a standard crypton bulb for Maglite 6cell, but the Malkoff dropin was brighter.