Petzl Tikka XP 2?

kinkbmxco

Newly Enlightened
Petzl Tikka XP 2 Runtime

Hey, I am relatively new to this scene, I should probably hide my wallet and run...
Anyways, I just purchased a Zebralight H501W and had a chance to test it out this weekend and it was great! I spoke with a friend of mine who just picked up a Petzl Tikka XP 2 so I checked out the specs and the runtimes seem unreal... According to the REI website, at 60 Lumens it runs for 80 Hours, and in its economy mode runs for 160! Comparing this to my Zebralight or my princeton Tec, my runtimes are pathetic. Is this accurate? Can 3 AAA's really last that long with that sort of output? My Princeton Tec EOS II is rated at 50 lumens for 1 hour and 11 hours on the lowest setting! Please educated me!

DM51

Flashaholic
Re: Petzl Tikka XP 2 Runtime

Please don't post 2 threads about the same topic. I'm merging them.

Daniel_sk

Flashlight Enthusiast
The Tikka XP (2) doesn't have a regulated output, it's diminishing slowly - so it has very long runtimes, but with declining output. The PT EOS is regulated so you get "guaranteed" 50 lumens for 1 hour and then the output will go down slowly.
So it's definitely not 60 lumens for 80 hours. It may still light after 80 hours but with maybe 1 lumen :).
You can see a "discharge" graph of the old Tikka XP version here:
http://www.flashlightreviews.com/reviews/petzl_tikka_xp.htm
Also advertised as 60 hours on high, but the output is 50% already after 4 hours.

kinkbmxco

Newly Enlightened
Thanks for that explanation Daniel! Sorry about making 2 threads, I didn't read the part about the moderators having to Okay the new topics so I thought I accidentally didn't submit it!

beautifully-stupid

Newly Enlightened
Just picked one of these up.

Here's the bottom line before you read-on.... If I didn't have a $40 credit at a local store I wouldn't have picked one up. Now that I've had a chance to use it I would honestly say that I would NOT recommend purchasing one.

The GOOD: