Newbie wants to buy HID.. needs advice

LASsociety

Newly Enlightened
Hi guys,

New to the forum here and am interested in getting a HID flashlight. I found out about these shopping eBay for a new flashlight. I was going to buy a surefire ( I do have a 6P LED for the bedside ) when i noticed the HIDs out there.

I work as a pilot and routinely preflight and postflight aircraft in the dark at outstations. My job is to find damage, leaks, bird-strikes etc at night before the flight is delayed discovering it in the morning when the sun comes out. Or on the other hand pre-flighting in the morning looking for the same or indications of frost or ice. At this point in my career having a good light is job protection. I have been using a 2D Mag light that is positively crap. (I'm taking the 6P to work this week)

So far the most I have spent on a light is the 6p surefire, but now my heart is set on a good flashlight. Here are my criteria.

1) Must be bright, bright enough that I can point it at fan blades about 50 feet away (while standing at best angle to look that them... in front of the wing) and see dings on individual blades. Bright enough that I can illuminate the tail of the aircraft that is 30 feet off the ground.

2) The light will be in my flight bag, and since the bag was expensive and the bag holder in the aircraft is a certain size, the bag is a certain size. I have it stuffed to the gills, and the only room i can spare is where the 2D cell Mag was + a little. I can fit maximum 12 inch length, 2 inch wide barrell and 3 inch wide reflector. Anything bigger won't fit in the bag and isn't much point in me buying.

3) No annoying focus rings. The 6P is good (and I haven't taken it to work yet) but the Mag has so many places that I can't see without moving it around alot.