Circuit design inquiry

ThumperIII

Newly Enlightened
I'm pretty new to flashlight modding. Previous experience is only with upgrading a 2AA XM-3 with a new heavier pill and DX 15880 driver to a P4. Works great.
Now working on 3D M*g mod and have Q's. I want several brightness levels. I liked the 15880 as I will be running from 3*D NiMH. If I understand correctly, I can parallel in some 7135 boards for higher controlled current levels. Here's my Q's. Should I go for one 1400mA 7135 board and the 15880 to drive a P7 at abt 2.4a or could I use two (or 2 1/2 ) 1400mA boards to drive a SST-50 at at 3.8a (or 4.5a)?
1. Are 3 NiMH batteries capable of providing enough output? (rated 12000mAh each)
2. Will the 15880 hold up to 3.8 or 4.5a throughput? (hoping the voltage from the 15880 can keep the 7135s in regulation for awhile)
3. Considering if both would work, which option would you use?

I made a heavy pill to heatsink all parts and have DX Alum OP reflector.

Thanks for any comments/suggestions or advise.

Last edited:

TorchBoy

Flashlight Enthusiast
1. Normal NiMH cells will fall flat on their face at 12 amps.

2. Do you mean "3.8 or 4.5 A"? How are you hoping that board will work on the other board? Like a saturated transistor? Can you explain again why you are considering it? :confused:

ThumperIII

Newly Enlightened