ROP 2D to 6AA with Nickel Zinc AA's?

Joshz

Newly Enlightened
I am a total newbie. After doing lots of reading on these forums I ordered all the parts to do a 2D to 6AA ROP and the final parts should arrive today. (Yay!) I already have the Pelican 3854 set of high and low bulbs. The only thing I still need to buy are AA rechargeables. I heard about the new Nickel Zinc AA batteries that are 1.6 volt each. Can I use them in the ROP? The potential problem I see is that since the Nickel Zinc are 1.6 volt each, using 6 of them makes a total of 9.6 volts, versus regular Nimh that are 1.2 volt each, making a total of 7.2 volts. Can the 3854 bulbs be run at 9.6 volts?

If I can't use the the 3854 at 9.6 volts, would it gain me any lumens to use a different bulb that can run at 9.6 volts? My huge preference would be to use a potted bulb that I can just drop in, since I have never done this before. If I have no choice, and it is really really easy, I guess I can try some sort of bi-pin holder.

Kestrel

Flashaholic
First (detailed) post lost due to server issues...

Shorter answer,
I'm not that familiar with NiZn chemistry,
If NiZn cells are 1.6v under load, yes, voltage could be an issue
If NiZn cells drop from 1.6 to 1.x under high current loads, things should be fine.

You might want to use the 3853-H instead of the 3854-H, that bulb is better for slightly higher voltages per ElectronGuru

I definitely understand your desire to say with PR-base bulbs, that is always my consideration as well.

Hope this helps,
K

mdhammack

Newly Enlightened
The 9.6 volts will be too much for the ROP setup. Stick with the tested and proven Sanyo Eneloop batteries. They are one of the best, if not THE best choice for the ROP lights.

Mjolnir

Flashlight Enthusiast