CNC machined housing
Custom anodizing
Can run with a remote switch

4134845575_c57472047f.jpg

Luminous.

Last edited:

John_Galt

Flashlight Enthusiast
This is an awesome first post. But, beamshots?

Looks very cool man. Are you running each of these at full tilt? What optics? Very nice housing.:welcome:

the_luminous

Newly Enlightened
JG.

Hi, I've been building for a few years now, but haven't been a frequent poster.

Weather in my neck of the woods hasn't been good for getting the camera out lately, but here are some shots of a prototype of this light, running 6 XP-G R3s.

From and approximate eye postion:
3991095446_66d20b5376.jpg

back a bit:
3990342019_09459ed880.jpg

Pictures were with camera at:
F4
6 seconds
WB; DAY

Which I think over does the image of the output and embelishes the light, but these are the settings others have used.

I will get round to posting more beam shots when things are drier.

Cheers.

Luminous

Last edited:

marcopolo

Newly Enlightened
Which I think over does the image of the output and embelishes the light, but these are the settings others have used.

Hi Luminous.

What i have found with all my 1000+ lumen lights is that the hot part of the beamshot at these settings is exposed slighly more than in real life. However the light at the periphery and further down the trail is actually LESS exposed in the photos!

I have a theory on this (I'm an amatuer astonomer too). Your eyes can increase their sensitivity to light by over 10,000x in the darkest locations. Obviously with these kind of lights shining you don't get that kind of gain. However when you are peering further down the road your eye adjusts quickly for the lower light level. You camera is not so smart and ALL areas of the picture are exposed by the same amount.

I'ts just my theory and I may be wrong.

Marco.

the_luminous

Newly Enlightened
Marcopolo.