Fenix LD10 beamshot problem, please help a newbie :)

venacava

Newly Enlightened
Hello there, and a happy new year! (albeit belatedly)

So, I just got the LD10 I ordered and despite having had a good experience with Fenix in the past I have to say I am disappointed with the beamshot:

P1000948.jpg

I'm no flashlight expert, more of an occasional user; I ordered this for my dad who uses a light for hours in the evenings.
It seems to us like that black circle around the centre is rather annoying when using the light. It irked me especially since it was not cheap and it does say "newly designed reflector: oustanding beamshot" right on the packaging.

I wrote 4sevens, who claim this is perfectly normal beamshot. Despite this, the beamshot in the product photos on fenix-store.com do not look like this, nor do ones I've seen in reviews.

So, what do you guys think?

is my beamshot outstanding like fenix claims?

or should I keep trying to get a replacement?

Any thoughts would be appreciated.
by the way, I made a diffuser for my LD01 using a guide I found here.. not sure who posted it, but that's how I found you guys :)
Thanks!

fannin

Enlightened
i think if you're not happy they should let you change it or return it

Moonshadow

Enlightened
Looks perfectly normal for an XR-E.

Did you get the smooth reflector or the orangepeel ? The smooth will be more ringy but have a bit more throw.

Either way, the rings won't be as noticeable in real use as on the white wall.

When I first got my Nitecore Extreme, it had me thinking 'Ring-o-rama !' , but once I'd stopped whitewalling and actually started using it, I found that it's one of the best and most useful beams of all my lights.

If you can leave the white wall alone you should find that you can get on with enjoying your light.

mcnair55

Flashlight Enthusiast