3 Watt Luxeon Star (pics)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gransee

Flashlight Enthusiast
We received samples of the Luxeon III the other day for eval...

A Luxeon III star (left) next to a 1watt HD luxeon mounted on an Arc-LSH board (right):

3watt.jpg

As you can see these are basically a 1 watt dice with a better heat management. Our rep says they actually added several new features to permit the higher continous current operation. These are rated at 700mA but can be driven at 1000mA.

We won't be using these in any of our products anytime soon because the 1 and 5 watters are the ticket for our designs.

Thanks to Lumileds for letting us evaluate another of their industry leading products!

Peter

Yem

Newly Enlightened
Hi Peter. Excuse me, I'm new at this, but is the Luxeon III a 1 watt or 3 watt LED? Or is it a case of a 1 watt LED being able to handle 3x the current (due to said heat mgmt) and therefor 3x the "brightness"? Someone school the newbie plz /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

Zach.

Gransee

Flashlight Enthusiast
Depends on how you look at it. You could say the dice in the 1 watt package is capable of being driven at 3 watts - if you heatsink it adequately. The 3 watt package makes it a lot easier to heatsink. Therefore, the same dice is safer at 3 watts in the 3 watt package.

Power levels are less important that heat. Heat is what destroys LEDs. If you can keep it cool, you can drive it at a multiple of it's rated power.

This new LED will be ideal for automotive applications for example. You have a small package producing a large amount of light with an entire car to heatsink it.

Now this will work you noodle: Why do you think I will continue to use the 1W unit in the LS4? There are actually multiple reasons. And in the LS5, I will continue to use the 5watter at 3 watts then the less expensive 3 watter at 3 watts.

But for vehicles, etc, the 3 watter is the ticket.

Peter