SunwayLED
Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Help! Is my Maha C9000 Broken? Already?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Unenlightened
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4

    Unhappy Help! Is my Maha C9000 Broken? Already?

    I just purchased a brand new Maha C9000 charger and received it today. It worked for about an hour letting me charge 4 AA newer batteries. I then tried to use the Refresh/Analyze option on 2 of my older AA batteries. About 10 seconds into the process, everything went kablooey on the LCD...random characters all over the LCD for about 10 seconds, and then everything disappeared off the LCD. I can still hear the low frequency whistling noise, but it's solid, not pulsating. I unplugged it from the power and waited 5 minutes. Turned it back on without any batteries, and it just showed a bunch of random characters all over the LCD and then...nothing. Inserting a battery still shows nothing on the LCD...but the LCD still gets backlit for a few seconds.

    Has this happened to anyone else? Will the manufacturer replace it? I already emailed them and waiting for a response.

    Thanks all.

  2. #2
    *Flashaholic* Mr Happy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    5,390

    Default Re: Help! Is my Maha C9000 Broken? Already?

    Sounds like you got a faulty unit. I expect Maha will make it right for you. They are good with customer satisfaction.

  3. #3
    Flashaholic* Black Rose's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Ottawa, ON, Canada
    Posts
    4,622

    Default Re: Help! Is my Maha C9000 Broken? Already?

    Definitely sounds like a defective unit.

    They are in the pacific time zone so give them a phone call, you'll get a faster response.

    The charger has a 3 year warranty and Maha are very good with warranty claims.
    Call them up and they'll likely have something going before you get off the phone with them.

  4. #4
    Unenlightened
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Help! Is my Maha C9000 Broken? Already?

    I just noticed they are in So Cal...so am I...perfect! I'll be giving them a call shortly.

    Thanks for the replies.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Help! Is my Maha C9000 Broken? Already?

    I used to sell pro audio bands DJ's night clubs etc. We had a rule of thumb that true manufacturing defect will normally show up the first weekend.

    That's what you have. Don't sweat it at all those things happen, they'll replace it with no hassle and then you'll be as happy as Bill Clinton at a Hooters.
    I collect WW-2 items. Can you help me find any?

  6. #6
    Flashaholic* lightsandknives's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Oklahoma
    Posts
    537

    Default Re: Help! Is my Maha C9000 Broken? Already?

    Just give them a call and they'll stand behind it! My unit was over 2 years old when it developed a problem. I gave them a call and they sent me a new unit with a return authorization for the old one. Excellent customer service. The C9000s come with a 3 year warranty.

  7. #7
    Unenlightened
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Help! Is my Maha C9000 Broken? Already?

    You guys were right about the outstanding customer service this company provides. I got my UPS tracking # early in the morning today. Should have the new unit tomorrow. Sweet!!!

  8. #8
    Unenlightened
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Help! Is my Maha C9000 Broken? Already?

    Well, I got the new replacement unit today and it seems to be working. Few things I noticed...it came with a different a/c adapter(smaller), and it's not making that low frequency whistle sound(good thing I suppose).

    Now I have a question. I have a few of those Uniross 15 minute charge AAA batteries that have been in storage for about a month. I inserted one of them into the charger and chose the refresh/analyze option. The process indicated "charging" mode for about 15 minutes and got up to 79 mah. Then it switched to "rest" mode and it has now been 110 minutes and it hasn't switched back to "charging" mode. Is this normal? I thought it stays in "rest" mode for 1 hour?

    Thanks.

  9. #9
    Banned Lightcrazycanuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Kelowna,B.C. Canada
    Posts
    388

    Default Re: Help! Is my Maha C9000 Broken? Already?

    Quote Originally Posted by mrblazito View Post
    You guys were right about the outstanding customer service this company provides. I got my UPS tracking # early in the morning today. Should have the new unit tomorrow. Sweet!!!
    Customer Service at it's best.

    Nice job Maha.

  10. #10
    Flashaholic* TakeTheActive's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Central NJ, USA
    Posts
    830

    Lightbulb Re: Help! Is my Maha C9000 Broken? Already?

    Quote Originally Posted by mrblazito View Post
    I just purchased a brand new Maha C9000 charger and received it today. It worked for about an hour... ...About 10 seconds into the process, everything went kablooey on the LCD - random characters all over the LCD for about 10 seconds, and then everything disappeared off the LCD...

    ...Has this happened to anyone else? Will the manufacturer replace it?
    Yes and yes.

    Please see: Help C9000 doesn't work. - palomino77

    for LINKs to videos.

  11. #11
    Flashaholic
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    178

    Default Re: Help! Is my Maha C9000 Broken? Already?

    Quote Originally Posted by TakeTheActive View Post
    Yes and yes.

    Please see: Help C9000 doesn't work. - palomino77

    for LINKs to videos.
    He already received the replacement unit, 3 posts above yours.
    Fenix TA21 | Olight M20 Warrior | Eagletac P20A2 | Solarforce L2 | ITP A3 EOS Ti | Lumapower Vantage | LED Lenser Police Focus |

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •