LED and battery selection help

Deal87

Newly Enlightened
Hi guys I stumbled across this website while performing online research for a project I am working on at university. It is to design a dive torch. I am struggling to find information on the runtime values and which type of batteries are best to use. I am heavily considering using the Cree MC-E LED's my design currently has 5 of these. The battery choice is still in research, my initial thoughts are they need to be rechargeable and as compact as possible whilst still providing a reasonable burn time of around 1-3 hours on full power. I feel NiMH is a good choice because they do not suffer from memory effect. The runtime calculator proved very useful however because I am studying a motorsport engineering degree I admit to not knowing a huge amount about electronics. I know I need to use a driver, possibly a LED Dynamics Buckpuck. This is where I am open to opinions from you guys as you are likely to know more than me about good combinations of LED's and battery types etc. Any suggestions would be great.
Many thanks.

DM51

Flashaholic
Welcome to CPF, Deal87 :)

Your project sounds interesting, and I look forward to seeing how it goes!

We have a sub-forum dedicated to Dive Lighting, so I'll move your thread there for comment by other divers.

Some of the information you are looking for is to be be found in other sections, but Dive Lighting is probably the best place to base your thread.

Deal87

Newly Enlightened
Hi, thanks for the welcome. I'm sure few people on here will be able to help me out!

350xfire

Flashlight Enthusiast